The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can

plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors makes a number of unwarranted assumptions that needs examination. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions make the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these assumptions does not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The major leap in the argument is the assumption that having high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviours. It fails to account for teens behaviour for the rest of the day when these teens are not with their families. Most bad habits such as the use of illegal drugs, tobacco, among others are done with peers and not with families. Most people tend to put up their best behavior at a family gathering, either during a dinner or a family party. Thus, the assumption that having family meals leads to the procreation of well-behaved teens is seriously flawed.

Another leap in the argument is the weak basis of the survey carried out. The survey only include over 5,000 adolescents and it is thus believed that these 5,000 adolescents represents the adolescent everywhere. Also, the argument never state where the survey was carried out. Was the survey carried out in only one location or in several location? If this 5,000 adolescents reside in one region, then, the conclusion that having a high number of meals with the family might seem valid for only that region.

Finally, the argument assumes people with higher grades, better self-esteem and lower rates of depression are as a result of family meals. There is no correlation between having family meals and having high grades, better esteem or lower rates of depression. Teens neither study with their family while having dinner together with their family, nor do they exhibit most of their behaviors when they are with their families. Thus, saying having high grades, good behaviour and lower depression rate as a result of family meals does not seem valid.

However, to strengthen the argument, the author needs to provides what the sampled teens do when they are not with their families. It is what these teens do in the absence of their families or when they are with their friends that determine whether they engage in bad behavior or not. More so, the survey needs to be carried out in different locations with larger samples of teens. Assuming the study of over 5,000 teens behavior represents the behavior of all teens as a whole seems invalid. Lastly, the argument need to examine the other activities scholars and well-behaved individual do apart from family meals.

In conclusion, the argument that good behaviors in teens is related to having meals often with family members makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously weaken its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, having family meal might even have less impact on a teen’s behaviour as such teen is engaged in several activities when he or she is not with the family and it is these activities that determine how well-behaved or bad-behaved such student is.