Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The argument that the decline in deer population is as a result of their inability to cross melted sea makes a number of unwarranted assumptions. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold, the argument totally falls apart.

The first leap in the argument is that it assumes the attrition in deer population is as a result of the deer’s inability to cross the frozen sea that are being melted due to global warming. This is seriously flawed because the argument claim that deers only feed on island and not on mainlands. They can easily migrate to mainland and disperse in search for food. Deers might also hunt for food in the melted water itself. For this argument to be valid, the author needs to show evidence that deers only feed on island. The author needs to show that deers don’t have any other source of food apart from feeding on islands. If these evidences are provided, then, the argument stays valid.

Another basic leap in the argument is that it assumes deers only feed on plants and not on other animals. Deers might be preying on other smaller animals such as rabbits, rats and many more. The plants in the frozen island might not be deer’s only meal. For this argument to be strengthened, the author needs to provide evidence that shows deer only feed on plants on the islands and not on other smaller animals in the food chain of the ecosystem. This evidence, if ascertained to be true that deers only feed on plants on the island, will corroborate the author’s claim.

Lastly, the argument assumes that deers have been following the pattern of migrating from one island to another island in search for food for eons ago. This pattern might just be recently established by deers. They might have migrated only once and twice. The argument fails to show that deer’s migration is been studied since years ago. The author needs to provide evidence showing that deers have been praciticing the migration from one island to another for eons ago. If this evidence prove that this practice have been in existence for years long, then the argument stays valid.

However, in order for this argument to be strengthened, the author needs to provie evidence showing that islands are the only places of food for deers. It might be that deers feed on mainland as well. The melting sea might also be of advantage to them as they might prey on small fishes in the sea. Also, the author need to provide the evidence that deers only feed on plants. Deers might as well be feeding on other smaller animals such as rabbits; whereby the freezing of island plants might not have much effect on them. Finally, the author needs to provide the evidence that deers have been practicing the pattern of migrating from one island to another - in search for food – for years. These deers might have just migrated once or twice or only started migrating in recent years.

In summary, the argument that deers population are decreasing due to deer’s inability to migrate from one island to another in search for food makes numerous unwarranted assumptions that seriously impairs its validity. Unless these assumptions are address, the argument falls apart. Thus, the author needs to see if the deers’ population is decreasing due to other factors apart from the frozen foods on island.