The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

“The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the west Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring eastern Carpentaria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region’s biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.”

The writer claims in his letter that there should be no further developments along the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment. However the author fails to provide evidence to support this claim therefore, the argument is flawed and inconclusive.

Firstly, the writer claims that the tufted groundhog "once numbered in millions" would be at risk of extinction. The writer however fails to provide evidence that the population of the tufted groundhog has reduced drastically and fails to give an estimated figure, at the very least, on their current population. For all we know, the tufted groundhog may already be extinct. He also fails to provide evidence that the species are currently habited in the coastal wetlands of West Landsburg. Migration is a high possibility and evidence should be proved to support the claim.

Furthermore, the writer claims that what held in Eastern Carpenteria in 1978 would hold true in West Lansburg in 2004. The writer also equated the sea otter to the tufted groundhog in this statement to indicate how the population declined after the repeal of its sanctuary. This however is flawed because it could be possible that the reason why the sea otter's population declined was due to their inability to migrate to other habitats since their natural habitat is the sea itself. Therefore claiming that the tufted groundhog would have difficulties migrating as well is unfounded. No evidence is provided to support this assertion.

The writer also claims that there should be no development in the region so as to preserve the biodiversity hinting that the tufted groundhog co-habits with other species in that region. There is, however, no evidence to support this claim which could render the argument highly unconvincing. The writer could provide evidence of other species co-habiting along the coastal wetlands of West Landsburg.

In conclusion, the writer may not necessarily be mistaken in his claim that development in that region would negatively affect the tufted groundhog. However, he fails to provide evidence that the population of the groundhog is currently at risk of extinction and development would be ill-advised at the moment.