The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Living in probably the heyday of globalization, it is being increasingly difficult to suggest the existence of an isolated national identity, let alone trying to preserve it. The intercontinental nature of nowadays economy, pop culture, and information all impose a more holistic approach to be adopted while tackling such issues. In this case, the author seems to have based his assumptions on multiple notions, all in contrary to the current global environment.

While, as a rule-of-thumb, the integrity of national borders is admittedly a matter of national security that can threaten the safety of the people, it is wrong to assume that every single illegal immigrant is as ill-intentioned and useless to the country as a first-tier criminal. In fact, several countries around the world have clearly shown that, when applied with a little bit of meritocracy, immigration can be a rich source both for the economy and the culture. That is, for us to claim the threat of illegal immigrants presumes that they cannot be incorporated in the country or even contribute to its development.

Also, the author seems to cast unnecessarily large focus on the immigrants entering the country, thereby implicitly assuming that the cost of implementing strict borderside measures is not greater than the cost of reacting to their presence. In other words, a merely passive approach to border safety can actually turn out to be more expensive than filtering out the immigrants after their entrance and trying to make the best out of their presence, especially as labor forces.

In conclusion, while the issue of illegal immigrants can indeed be a danger if left without any kind of surveillance, it is a wild assumption to consider them as incompatible with the country's economy and culture, nay claiming they can be but brought back home.