The following is an excerpt from a letter to the editor of the Billington Bugle:

There is no possible downside to the community in bringing the Grand Prix to Billington. Though it has not proved financially successful in other cities that have hosted the race, this will be not he case for Billington. The race's course will run through the economic center of downtown, and the organizers of the event have offered to pay to repave the downtown streets through which the race will run. Those streets are in such disrepair that having them repaired will be a tremendous boon to the city. Furthermore, though most downtown businesses (aside from restaurants and food vendors) will likely be shut down for three days, the influx of tourist dollars will be immense. Finally, the international prestige of hosting such a race will raise the city's profile significantly, generating new interest in doing business here."

Write a response in which you response what specific examples or evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and how those examples of evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of a letter to the editor of the Billington Bugle speaks very positively of the benefits of bringing Grand Prix to Billington. She claims that there is no possible downside to bringing the Grand Prix, considering that the streets of the economic center of downtown will be repaved, there will be an influx in tourist dollars, and the city’s reputation will grow, generating business interested. The underlying assumptions behind these claims should be explored before any reader evaluates the argument made by the author.

The author begins by making a general claim of there being no possible downside to the hosting of the Grand Prix. This claim should be deconstructed for its validity in terms of time. Will there be no downsides overall, in the short-term, or in the long-term? The author should expand on whether there will be initial costs or hurdles that the city should prepare for in the short-term. If there are such short-term costs or hurdles, the city will need to evaluate whether they can afford them enough so that the long-term benefits are worth it. If the author expands her argument to claim to all time frames, evaluating the argument may be more straightforward that it seems.

The author goes on to claim that Billington will be the exception in a string of financially unsuccessful endeavors to host the Grand Prix. She should continue on with this train of thought to expand on the differences between Billingtown and other cities. Although she claims the benefits that Billington will experience, she does not expand on how Billington is different from other cities and attribute these differences to why Billingtown will be successful. The following questions should be asked before evaluating this assumption: Why were other cities not successful? Where their financial, social, political, etc. circumstances different? If indeed the author is able to expand on barriers that other cities faced that do not apply to Billington, her argument may be strengthened. If on the other hand, the author is unable to distinguish what is unique about Billington, her argument may weakened,

Finally, the author discusses how although most downtown businesses will be shut down for three days, there will be an immense influx of tourist dollars. The current assumption is that the influx of tourist dollars will make up for if not surpass any loss in profit by the downtown business owners. This assumption should be clarified for readers to better understand the author’s argument. Will the influx of tourist dollars be going directly to the downtown businesses who are expected to face a loss of profits, or elsewhere? If they are not going directly to downtown business owners, how will such business owners make up their profits in both the short and long-term? If the tourist dollars are expected to go to downtown business owners before or after the three day shut down, the author’s argument will be strengthened. If the transfer of wealth is not so direct, business owners and other readers may have more hesitations about the plan. Answering these questions will bring light to the distribution of wealth expected by bringing Grand Prix to Billington.

The author’s letter to the editor of the Billington Bugle is a passionate one, filled with promising hopes for improving the city of Billington. Before agreeing to the author’s reasons for such promising hopes, readers should question the author’s underlying assumptions. They should understand whether benefits will occur in the short-term or long-term, where wealth will be distributed, and the unique circumstances of Billington that will allow it to be financially successful compared to other cities which were not.