The main reason we should study history is to ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

History is a broad term that describes the study of events that occurred in the past. These events can occur on a national, geographic, or even personal level. While disdained by many as a school subject with far too many trivial details, history--in the many ways it can be defined--should be studied mainly to ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past.

History, taken as an understanding of political pasts, should be studied to ensure that nation-states treat their citizens with respect and do not make bureaucratic decisions that may adversely affect their populations. Human beings often run into the same conflicts over natural resources and wealth, which are often disguised by the context of religion. In 1984, the Indian government attacked the Sikhs of Punjab. While the Sikhs took this as an attack on their faith, closer examination reveals that this attack arose due to the Sikhs growing political power. In contemporary times in Punjab, the Sikhs temples of Punjab were demolished. The Sikhs in 2016 revolted against what they saw as a repeated attack on their faith. Their revolt was quickly squandered. Had they understood the motive behind the attack on their temples as non-religious and rather political, they might not have been able to build up a more appropriate and effective response. Had the Sikhs of 2016 studied the history of their prior generations, they could have avoided making the same mistakes in the design of their revolt and avoided their past mistakes.

History, taken on a more individual and familial basis, should be studied to avoid stress and to save money and time. My friend’s family is, unfortunately, blessed with terrible genetics. 95% of their family members have diabetes. My friend could not help but indulge in a sweet delight after each meal until very recently. After her more recent trip to the doctor’s office, she was diagnosed as pre-diabetic. Had my friend studied her family’s medical history more, she might have considered her diet and the consequences it might lead to. She could have avoided the mistakes of her family had she studied history. Some many argue that studying history is not all about avoiding mistakes of the past; that such studies have alternative, equally important purposes. For example, my friend could have studied her family’s history in order to simply give her perspective and increase awareness of her own bodily conditions. While this may be true, any increase in awareness or perspective gained through a study of history, on a personal level or otherwise, ultimately guides one’s future decision making. As a result, a study of history ends up ensuring that we do not repeat mistakes of the past.

All in all, studying the past, or history, is an important method of ensuring we do not repeat the mistakes of the past. This concept is applicable on multiple levels; history can be studied in a political or personal sense. This study, for whatever context it may be, can help avoid the stress of repeating the same mistake and help ensure the effectiveness of future decision making.