The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic problems here in Waymarsh are obviously reaching record levels. While just three months ago it would take me 15 minutes to get to work, it now takes closer to 25. Waymarsh should follow the example of our neighboring city Gearsville. Last year, Gearsville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work with coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Gearsville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and several friends who live in Gearsville tell me that their trip to work is quicker than it used to be. With the terrible traffic and high pollution in Waymarsh, we must implement a policy similar to Gearsville's."

The author advises that the similar policy to Gearsville should be passed in Waymarsh regarding the terrible traffic condition and the pollution. To support his/ her statement, he/ she quotes the outcomes of the policy in Gearsville, which is claimed to have tackled the traffic congestion and pollution. As the policy may prove useful in Waymarsh, however, the current information cannot support the necessity and feasibility of a solution towards this issue. For further evaluation, more evidence gains significant weight.

First of all, The writer cites his/ her personal experience and claims that now it takes him/ her longer to go to work than three months ago, hence, the traffic condition is regarded as more terrible in Waymarsh. However, I argue that the only personal experience is quite unconvincing. Fisrtly, we are not informed with the exact location and time of the trips. If the they were taken in the rush and non-rush hours respectively. Then, the increase from 15 to 25 minutes is recognized as insignificant. Moreover, the amount of sample is too small to convince us that the traffic condition is gettinig worse these months. Also, there is completely no evidence indicating that the pollution in Waymarsh is quite thorny. Thus, further evidence is needed to prove the degraded traffic condition. If the evidence is unvalid, then, the statement will be challenged.

Moreover, granted that the problem does exist in Waymarsh. The writer compared Waymarsh with Gearsville. However, there is no evidence indicating that the two towns are highly comparable in many ways. If it is the case that one is a metropolitan city and another is rural area, then, we are reluctant to believe the statement. Even if they are comparable, further evidence is needed to prove that the policy did achieve the outcomes, decreasing the pollution and improving the traffic congestion. Without evidence we are not sure whether other factors have contributed to the improvement. Also, only according to the statement from several friends, the argument cannot be supported.

In addition, the author fails to consider the feasibility of the method in Waymarsh. Neither do we know about the potential costs and negative influence. Thus, at least we should have evidence about the feasibility of the policy.

Overall, it is possible that the policy will improve the air quality and traffic condition in Waymarsh. However, the information available now cannot help us evaluate the advice. Thus, only if the aforementioned evidence is provided can we reach a logically sound advice.