The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement claims that in order to stop the erosion, we need more money for replenishing the sand and we can get the money by charging tourists for using the beaches. In order to prove this statement, we need to examine some evidence, namely how many people use the beaches, how much money should be charged for people using the beaches, as well as the possibility of people not using the beaches because of the charge given to them, and the key factors in determining whether the development of any tourist industry will survive in the long-term. With this information in place, we would find whether this argument convincing and cogent.

To begin with, according to the letter given to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria, the Tria Island, in fact, faces a serious threat because of the erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island. In order to stop the erosion, the statement points out that they will need such amount of money to replenish the sand as ever implemented by the people in Batia Island. Despite the fact that Batia Island was successfully in stopping the erosion and reducing the buildings’ risk of additional damage from severe storms, we need to know whether Batia Island also did other activities in order to stop the erosion such as the possibility of using some plants over the water surface or any advanced technology. By knowing this information, we would know whether replenishing the sand will be sufficient to stop the erosion.

Turning the second point pertaining to the money, we should study how many people visiting the beaches daily. Then, we should calculate how much money we should charge for them and ask them whether they want to visit the beaches if there is entrance fee they should pay before entering the beaches area. If we find that they still want to visit the beaches with the entrance fee we charge for them, then the conclusion to replenish sand in order to protect the buildings from the erosion by utilizing the money from the visitors would be strengthened.

Last but not least, although we have enough money in order to replenish the sand and avoid erosion, it does not necessarily mean the tourist industry will improve over the long term. In order to ensure that the tourist industry in that island is attractive, we need to know what key indicators for determining the successful of such a tourist industry. Take, for example, to ensure the success of a tourist industry, we should provide them with convenient facilities and good services such as restaurant with a wide range of food choice, clean restroom, good accommodation, and available hotel service for 24 hours and so on and so forth. In such a case, we would find out whether the tourist industry in Tria Island would thrive and sustain in the future.

To put it in a nutshell, the statement written in the letter provides an interesting hypothesis regarding the necessity we should do to protect Tria Island from erosion and the prediction of sustaining tourist industry in Tria Island if the authorities could get some money from tourists to replenish the sand. However, in order for this statement to have weight, we need to evaluate some evidence including data about how many people visiting the beaches every day, how much money we should charge for the tourists, as well as the likeliness they still want to come if they are charged in that amount of entrance fee calculated, and, of course, the factors determining the sustainability of tourist industry such as good accommodation and service. With this evidence in place, we can necessarily find out whether the claim written in the letter bereft of critical foundations that we can believe.