The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter sent to the head of the tourism bureau, the author stated the problem of sand erosion and that it is a threat for the tourist industry. To solve such a problem, the author recommended charging the visitors of the beaches, and then use that money to replenish the sand. Although, the recommendation looks reasonable at the first glance, we can see that it relied on some evidences that are questionable in terms of plausibility.

first, the author didn't take the actual reason of the erosion into consideration. The reason behind such a problem may in many cases give valuable directions to the best solution. For example, the reason for erosion might be an act done by the tourists themselves, in such a case, replenishing the sand will not be a good option to solve the problem, as the main cause will be still existed. In other cases, when the direct cause of the problem can be gotten rid of by replenishing the sand, it will be a suitable solution.

Furthermore, the author didn't consider the economical abilities of the visitors, a study of their acceptance of such a charge and their ability to pay for such a service would make the argument more cogent. that is, if other islands are close to the island of tria and they offer the beaches free to the tourists, they may consider change their destination once they know about the charge.

Finally, the comparison made with batia island and that replenishing the sand there solved their problem, lacks investigations of the kind of problem the island of batia had, The author didn't mention that they were facing an isuue of sand erosion, and so, the same procedure of replenishing the sand will not by necessity help solving the problem of tria.

In conclusion, the incomplete evidences used by the sender of the letter and that they lack further investigation weaken the credibility of the argument and make the suggestion made less sound. More studies such as, the direct reason of the problem, the tourism economical abilities, and how close the case of island of batia is to the problem of tria island would make the argument more substantiated and sound.