Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of its entire people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

To evaluate a nation in terms of great it is, one must have an analytical look at many aspects of the nation that help him better assess the nation's greatness. In this context, people argue about what aspects or factors are more telltale about the welfare of a nation. that is, some people use the acievements of the rulers or artists to assess a nation, while others don not believe that this is an adequate indicator of how a nation is great and instead, they think that the welfare of the overall nation is best representative of the greatness of the nation.

thinking of the achievements of a nation as an indicator of the greatness may sometimes be misleading. that is, The field at which a nation excels and has achievements determines how these achievements will have an impact on the nation as total. A nation that for example is replete of artists that are the bes at their field of sculptures creation, will be highly-reputed of this and will have many achievements in that field. However, the excellence of this nation in this particular field, will difficultly have an impact on the nation's people financially or educationally. so, we can conclude that in this way of assessing, the nation's greatness significantly depends on the certain field they are renowned to be good at.

Moreover, considerable number of nations try their best in the long and short term to enhance the way the world look at them, so that they are more respected internatoinally. this is always done by the governments that don't want to be accused of any wrong-doing towards the people they govern, so they spread information about achievements they have done regardless the veracity of such achievements. Consequently, assessing a nation based on the achievements they are renowned for will be mislead. In other words, the information disseminated about one nation is always spread by the leaders of this nation, who are not by necessity reliable for the information they spread, given that the goodness of the information dispersed about them positively affect their ruling.

Finally, if we imagine a hypothetical nation that is characterized by the welfare of its people, it is very unlikely for this nation to not be great, as the welfare of any nation is not easily achieved and always determined by many factors that require a lot of hard work to achieve, and this makes the welfare of a nation's people a good indicator of the greatness of a nation.

In conclusion, we can not ignore the probable correlation between the achievements of rulers or artists of a nation and its greatnes. Nevertheless, it is not always plausible to use it as the only indicator of the greatness of the nation, as many factors impede doing that such as, the continuous tries of governments to ameliorate their look among the international society regardless how good they really are, and also, the achievements of a nation sometimes lies in a field that is hardly benefeting the people of the society and therefore, they are hardly called great in general.