The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article discusses the environment and the kind of place a retire">retiree is better to live at. He supposed that a retiree has to look for a clearview place and a quiet place away from the neighboring towns in general. In almost all of his recommendations, the author used assumptions that are questionable in terms of their veracity and need more investigation to appear more realistic.

First, the article itself and all the kind of recommendations that have taken place in the argument, doesn't tackle the subject from a retiree point of view. In other words, the recommendations are not said to be taken from a survey a a questionaire that asked retirees about their preferences in the choice of the place they want to retire at.

Furthermore, the article states that the costs of the housing have fallen in clearview in the past year, not considering any kind of comparison between the prices in the neighboring towns and clearview. As the author made a comparison between taxes in both places, such a comparison had to be made also in the housing prices. that is, prices dropping in one place doesn't by necessity mean that they are cheaper than other places.

Finally, the author uses the improvement of schools in clearview places as something that attracts the retirees to live there, not considering that schools may not be something of interest for them as they are retiring. also the author stated that the number of phisycians in one place means that health care there should be better, not considering if the physicians there are actually there to work or just have their minds being cleared. also, giving someone recommendations about a place and telling them that this is better for them because they need more health care than others, may somehow indirectly affect their psycological health, thinking that they are too old to live ordinary life.

In conclusion, while a reasonable person might think that such places is better for old people and more suitable for them, one can think that just giving someone recommendations about a place to live without considerations about their preferences or their thoughts about that might look a weak argument.