The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The argument made by the manager of the WWAC radio station above states some facts such as, the decline in the number of listeners to the radio station, the increase in the population in the listening area, and that some local stores that sell recorded music have closed. The author, based on these facts, makes a conclusion about the reason of the decline of the number of listeners, and so that, he makes a recommendation that the station should change to news and talk format instead of music. In his/her build of the argument, the author lacked further investigations that are needed to make the recommendation more substantiated

first, the author mentioned that retired people have moved to the area recently, and assumed that their lack of interest in music is the direct reason of the decline of the number of listeners to the station and the closing of the recorded music stores. such an assumption needs more study to be proven veracious. that is, the kind of format they prefer to listen to were not studied in a realistic way. A survey that asks those new residents about their taste of music would strengthen the idea.

Furthermore, new residents moving to an area is not an indicator that they supplanted other residents, consequently, before the decline mentioned by the other ever occured, there were people who listen to the station and like what they air. In this contrext, A question that has to be answered is, did the people who had listened to the station till the mentioned decline happenned move from the area? and if not, what reasons swayed them away from listening to the station they used to listen to?

Finally, the author suggested that the station may change the format to news and talk, based on the fact that this format is increasingly popular in the area. A study to the industry of this kind of radio (news and talk) has to be made in order to see the main reason of this popularity of that kind, maybe a political situation the area witnesses in the mean time is the cause of such an increase, and they may be a station that has a wide spread reputation in the area of its reliability and veracity of its news. if this is the case, switching to that format would be meaningless, as the station will see a decline again in the number of listeners when the situation that is attarcting people to listen to that kind fades away, also, it would face a competition with a station that is experienced in that field.

In conclusion, the evidences that are used by the author to derive such a recommendation, may at the first glance seem reasonable. However, more investigations and questions need to take place and be answered in order to make the switch of the format sound and plausible.