In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument mentioned, the author referred to an attempt in which a city called prunty county tried to improve highway safety, and relied on some reports that showed no decrease in the number of accidents in that city. Based on those reports, the author concluded the failure of the attempt the city has followed, and then suggested that the city should undertake the same procedures taken by another city which showed a success. In his build of the argument, the author made assumptions that are questionable in terms of their veracity and reliability. More thorough investigation of the situation would make the argument more plausible,

first, the author concluded that the procedure taken by the city which is lowering the speed limit has failed to solve the problem, given that the number of accidents hasn't increased. Although this eviednce looks at the first glance cogent, the number of the accidents may not be the best indicator of the quality of the highway. that is, a highway that is very crouded and is used by myriad number of cars having the same number of accidents as another highway that is not frequently used by cars, would be considered better than the less crowded highway. given that, and considering that the number of cars in a city might change significantly from a season to season and from year to another, the percentage of the cars which make accidents would be more indicative of the quality of the high way than the number itself.

Moreover, the author referred to the reports by the highway patrol which stated that many drivers exceed the speed limit. this evidence would better be an incentive to the city to fine the speed limit exceeders, and is less implying to the failure of the procedure of lowering the speed limit itself. that is, to assess the success of such procedure, one must make sure first that it is conformed to by the drivers, as if it is not conformed to, it is just as it wasn't made at all.

Finally, in his pointing to the success of the improvement of the highway undertaken by the other city, the author mentioned that the number of accidents has decreased in a time peiod of five years, and did not consider any kind of comparison between the density of the traffic in both cities. such a comparison would make the numbers more meaningful. Also the author did not point to the results of this procedure undertaken by the butler county city after one year of applying them, for example, if after one year the number of accidents hasn't fallen significantly in butler county city, the case would be very similar to the case of the prunty county city, and would instead encourage the prunty county city to continue in their way of dealing with the problem to see similar results after the same five years period of time.

To recapitulate, the argument the author made, would at the first glance seem plausible. However, a deeper look at the evidences used, would give an intuition of the lack of reliability the evidences have, and would show that the argument require more evidence and questions to be raised, such as, a comparison between the density of the traffic in both cities mentioned and using the percentage of the accidents in the highways instead of the plain numbers.