The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria."Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for

The author puts forth an argument to start collecting funds from the visitors of the Trial island. To prove his point, he gives the reason of sand replenishment and the protection of buildings from sand erosion. The reasons produced by the author has long leaps and logical fallacies. There are unstated assumptions for which there isn't any evidence provided. Hence the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the funds would help replenishment of the sand that is eroding on Tria islands. This statement is a stretch and does not provide a logical connection between collecting funds and preventing sand erosion. Without knowing the root cause of sand erosion, there is no sense in replenishing the sand. As it is rightly said 'prevention is better than cure', the author must address the root cause and try to work on it to permanently stop sand erosion rather than replenishing it for the entire future. For example, if there is water pollution in the river due to toxic discharge from a factory, the factory discharge must be filtered and treated before mixing in the river, rather than spending money on cleaning the river perennially. Clearly, the author does not acknowledge the cause of sand erosion before taking about replenishing the sand. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly stated all the factors contributing to sand erosion and all the state of the art technology and solutions available to deal with the same.

Secondly, the argument claims that tourism would get better when the tourists would be charges as the sand would be in better health and the buildings protected. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the sand and tourism. There is quite a high possibility that there are contemporary islands which have free entry to the beaches. The tourists may go for them instead of going for Tria islands. If the argument would have provided evidence that how the tourism would improve with the fee imposed, the argument would have been much more clear.

Finally, the author points out to the Batia city that had their sand replenished to protect their buildings. Again, there can be myriads of reasons for the sand erosion and weakening of the buildings at Batia. What co-relation would this have with buildings at Tria. Are the buildings at Tria weak because of sand erosion? Or there are other factors in play? Is Tria a storm prone area? There are numerous such questions that the author must answer. Without it, the claim does not get a substancial credibility to be acted upon.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is, therefore, unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentions all the above fact like causes and techniques of soil erosion and replenishment, tourism factors influencing and how the Batia case is similar to Tria islands. In order to assess the merits of a certain decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of the contributing factors. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.