The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument to replace the Swift Nutrition with a new food vendor. However, in order to fully evaluate the argument, we need significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more and then analyze what we learn.

The first piece of evidence that we need to evaluate the argument is whether the new company which comes will provide the meals which attracts student. For example, when I was studying in the high school, there was a food vendor called Scoops. Scoops was really famous which used to provide variety of foods. Everyone at school used to like the food provided at Scoops. Scoops had a menu which used to provide only healthy food. The food included all nutrients. The food included all nutrients required for students. Thus, students had maintained a good health. Later, due to some problem, it was replaced by a new food vendor. They too provided the same food at same prices but the quality of food reduced when compared to Scoops. Although, students were attracted to this food since there was no change in the costs and also the taste. After all, taste matters a lot. This created serious health issues among students. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it had explicity mentioned what quality of food will be provided by the new food vendor.

Another piece of evidence that would help us is whether students eat the food from the new vendor. Also, Swift was providing healthy meals to students but students weren't attracted to these healthy food as they are used to less healthy food at home. Even if the new vendor provides a good quality food, students again will bring food from their and avoid eating at cafeteria. The new vendor should not only provide healthy food, they should also take care of student's food interests. By including the good nutrients in the food which students like will be a viable option as students not only eat their favorite food but also have a healthy meal. The information about the food which would be provided is not mentioned in the argument. The information about the food which would be provided by the new food vendor is missing in the argument as the food provided should be both healthy and tasty according to students' likes. Any evidence about the type of food provided by the new vendor will be helpful in evaluating the argument.

Clearly, then we need to have additional evidence in order to get a complete understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of argument.We need to know about the quality of food and the type of food provided by the new food vendor. And really we need more information if we want to extend our results.