The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt is recommending that through cooperation among young people the development of the society can be achieved over the competition between the young people. I would agree that the cooperation among the young people is vital for the functioning of a better society for two main reasons.

To begin, the cooperation among the students will help them to solve some major life problems. Teaching the cooperation will help in interacting with other people of different mind-sets and also respect their ideas too even if it doesnot match with their own idea. For example, in the college, the students are required to involve in many projects. The professors try to create a project team which usually consists of three five people. In the project team, professors might have two brillant students with other average scoring students. This will help the students to interact with other students and together come up with the solution for the project. This will prepare each and every student to adjust with other students. For illustration, one student may be good at studies but poor at logical thinking and vice versa. In this situation, if they cooperately work together, they can produce good results. However, if they don't involve each other in their tasks then the project might fail. Here, the student with good analytical skill can help the other student who is having less less analytical skill. Also, the student who can communicate to a larger audience the project solution can show-case their idea to the public. Likewise, when these students start working in a company they will have to work with people having different perspectives, different analytical ang logical thinking etc. Thus, the cooperation among the students will create the best results.

Further, competition will create serious issues among the young people if it is not properly handled. For instance, the students when they join some organisation. There will be many situation were they have to cooperate among other employees rather than compete with them. The project team will be having many young employees. When there is any task given to certain young employee, they have to interact with others about their solution and come up with the best one. Instead if they compete amon themselves and try to solve the problem, they might miss some important aspects which other employees could have catched. When this project is handled by a single person, then that particulat person might have solved the problem with his perspective, but there will be many other aspects to consider. Thus, the competition among young people might serious issues.

Nonetheless, the healthy competition is always required to succeed in anything. The healthy competition will not involve suppressing others, but making their life better than they were previously. For example, the students should have a healthy competition while scoring marks. When a student secures third place in some sports, then he or she should work hard to secure the first place in the next game. This doesnot mean we are competiting with others. Here, this means that we improving ourselves with the better version, but the prompt just says about the competition and not a healthy competition. Thus, there are many such cases where cooperation among the young people matters a lot in building the society.