A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more information and then analyze what we learn.

Firstly, we can't compare two groups of people living at different geographical locations, people of Nepal are staying in the Himalayan mountain region have limited access to dental health care when compared to people of the US staying in the suburban areas. For example, Nepalese might be following some regular tooth care instead of relying on any dentists. Therefore, Nepalese won’t require any sorts of regular dental care whereas people of the US might be not following good oral hygiene and because of this, they need regular health care. In that case, the argument’s claim is seriously weakened.

Another important factor that affects dental health care is genetics which is completely ignored in the above excerpt. Genetics doesn't just apply to immediate family but in fact to the larger community. We could conduct genetics test and find if genetics play a role here and maybe because of that Nepalese have good dental health. Conversely, if people of the US are facing tooth decays due to bad genetics then it concludes that no of visits to a doctor has no role here.

The data is faulty as there is no information about adults' dental health care of both the groups. For example, adults in the US might have reduced the tooth decay problems after regular visits to dentists in the early age whereas Nepalese might have developed some tooth decay problems later in their life. We can't extrapolate the things from children to adults. Thus, we need evidence about the dental health of adults to make a proper conclusion.

Finally, data is insufficient as we are unaware of the full extent of research. While we may be having accurate data from the US but cannot make the same claim about Nepal. For example, Nepalese might be having some informal dental health care in the Himalayas which might be not taken into consideration while doing the survey. Thus, without knowing the proper information about a survey process done in both the places we can't assure that regular dental health checkups are not preventing the tooth decay.

Clearly, then we need to have additional evidence in order to get a more complete understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of the argument. We need to know about the extent of the survey, genetics test, adults' dental health and the oral hygiene of two groups of people. And we really need more information if we want to extend the results that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.