The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo that appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council, it was concluded that daily use of fish oil would be a good way reduce absenteeism in the schools due to cold. However the author supports his argument with following three assumptions which if not corroborated would weaken the effectiveness of the argument considerable.

First of all, is the consumption of fish the sole reason for fewer visits to doctor by people of East Meria? It may be the case that they have adopted salubrious habits that has enabled them to be less prone to colds. They may have started exercising regularly or making better choice in purchase of food products thus making them less susceptible to diseases. It may also be the case, that the weather of the place is a contributing factor if less cases of cold in the area. If the weather is in general warmer in East Meria as opposed to West Meria, it may be possible, that weather may play a huge factor in number of cases of cold in the area. If any of these scenarios hold ground, then the author's assumption of fish consumption being the reason for less cases of cold would be weakened.

Secondly, are the colds the only reason for doctor's visit in East Meria? It may be the case that cold is a minor disease in the area, and people maybe suffering from some other disease which is causing them to visit doctor more often. Since the emphasis has been given on cold, the argument fails to account for other reasons which could increase the number of visits to doctor. It may also be the case that the people in East Meria suffer from a disease, treatment of which involves less visit to doctor but more home rest. In such case as well, the number of visits to doctor would be less but won't translate to increased attendance.

Finally, are the reasons given for absence from school or work accurate? It maybe the case that the employees and students of West Meria are inherently lazy and choose to miss work or school more than East Meria, and that cold is the most convenient excuse. It is possible that if dietary changes are implemented, the people make come up with some other excuse in order to take break from school or work. The advantages of dietary changes will not come to fruition in such case.

In conclusion, it is possible that introducing the use of nutritional supplements may increase the attendance levels in the area. However the assumptions made by the author severly weaken the justifiability of the the argument. Author needs to find evidence to corroborate the attendance records, motive for the visits to doctor by people of East Meria as well as an exhaustive analysis of the reasons of less amount of cases of the cold in the area in order to provide solidity to his argument.