The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.

“Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores concludes, that by placing their own ads in the popular pet magazines they would be able to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making profit again. Their decision is based on comparing with another pet store named Fish emporium. Although, the cited evidences seem logical and probable but, the assumptions on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the argument .Hence, the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the director assumes that since, the sales of the Fish Emporium store increased last year due to their ads in the magazine, the same results would be expected from the Lamponz pet store as well. But ,the director fails to provide evidences for the comparisons in the quality of service provided by both the stores. The Fish Emporium store may have different and unique varieties of pets available and hence their overall sales must be greater. Further, the ambience provided by this store must be better than the Lamfonz store as a result of which the customers would be attracted to the Fish emporium store. Placing their own ads in the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine in no way could then guarantee the increase in profits of the store. Thus, the director should consider about what other factors could attributed to increase of sales in the Lamfonz stores.

In addition to this, the author assumes that since there is increase of 3-5 percent of sales of the Lamfonz stores, so there must be a considerable amount of profit .However, percentage is a relative term. If the overall amount of sales for the Lamfonz stores was just a few dollars then a 3-5 percent increase cannot be considered as an effective increase in the amount of sales.Further, the director provides no evidence for questions like, 'Was the total sales of both the pet stores similar?'. If the overall sales of the Lamfonz stores is much greater than that of the Fish Emporium one then, it would be futile to compare the sales of both the stores.

Finally, the director assumes that placing their ads in the popular magazine could increase their profits. But, since the Fish emporium stores had placed their ads five years ago therefore it must have taken a long time for people to actually reads their articles in the magazine. Further, it may happen that nowadays, people don't read magazines frequently and hence there no point in placing the ads in magazines. Further, the director fails to assume the fact that the Fish Emporium store may have provided extra discounts as result of which their sales have been increasing. The market price of the pets sold from the Lamfonz stores must be excessively high therefore, people do not tend buy pets from the Lamfonz stores.

To sum up, the argument consists of certain obvious fallacies and loopholes .To strengthen the argument the director should have provided addition information about the overall sales of both the stores as well what other factors could be attributed to increase of sales of the Fish Emporium stores. Similarily, small and biased samples could seriously jeopardize the certainty of the conclusion. But, in the absence of this data the conclusion relies on certain doubtful assumption that render it unconvincing as it stands.