The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House

restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers.In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that only a modicum of customers has noticed that butter has been replaced by margarine. The author’s argument seems rational at first sight; however, after fastidiously analyzing its evidence, I became doubtful about the conclusion.

First, the author’s argument is based on unfounded ground. In other words, the statics used as a evidence in the argument does not support the conclusion. For instance, the author said only 2 percent of customers has complained about the replacement, while never mentioned the exact number of customers. As a result, I cannot conclude that the number of customers who dissatisfied with the replacement was small or big. If the number of complaining customers was small in reality, it is still uncertain that only small number of customers realized the replacement in real. It is possible that even realized and unsatisfied with the result, some customers did not complain about the replacement because of several, personal reason such as intrinsic character, being too shy to speak out about their opinion. So, it is irrational to conclude that only a small amount of people know the difference between butter and margarine and rest of customers were happy with the change.

Secondly, the research on which the argument primarily stressed out as evidence is unconvincing. Since the change has been made recently, the result is not fully believable. The result of the research can be periodic or just be aberrant. To achieve more credence about the result, the research or survey should be taken with longer period of time, validating the consistency of the result.

Lastly, since the area that replacement has been made is restricted to only a part of United States, it is too hesitate to make a sole conclusion that overall customers does not distinguish the difference of butter and margarine. To briefly say, the author considers misrepresentatives when make the general conclusion. To make the argument more reasonable, the replacement should be made across the country, not only throughout the southwestern United States.

In sum, for above-mentioned reasons, the author’s argument is not fully understandable. To bolster the argument, the author should provide more specific and concrete evidence that covers all the loopholes.