It is more harmful to compromise one’s own beliefs than adhere to them.

Many believe a person has to have one’s own beliefs and do the right things following the beliefs. However, the beliefs are not always compatible with social conventions. So, the argument is agreeable only to a certain extent.

Admittedly, it is important to have one’s own beliefs and follow that beliefs when commit a certain action. There are many historical figures that have been lauded by many people because he or she didn’t compromise one’s own beliefs and acted persistently with strong conscience. For example, in Japanese colonial era, there were many Koreans who resisted to follow Japanese unfair treatments for Korean and kept fighting for independence. Ann Jung Geun was one of those resisting Koreans as well. He sacrificed himself to fight against Japanese army and to protect Korean people. He strongly believed colonizing is inhumane which destroys one’s nation and identity. He followed his belief until he died in a prison and he became a historical figure who praised by many Koreans until now. So, having sound beliefs and keep devoting oneself to high-level value is not only easy but also laudable.

Nevertheless, one’s beliefs are not always righteous and make good consequences for overall society. Some selfish people could have selfish beliefs that only put him or herself in the center. The actions following those beliefs cause bad influence for overall society. For example, Osama Bin Laden had strong religious beliefs, so, to keep his beliefs, he committed terrors and killed many non-Islamic people. The consequences were disastrous and entire non-Islamic society got into chaotic confusion. Many Islamic people also received bad influences because some of countries banned their entrances at the airports. So, his dogmatic attitude towards his beliefs caused nothing but plights.

In sum, if one’s beliefs are sound and righteous, it is important to do not comprise one’s belief with outer force. In contrast, if one’s beliefs are biased and harmful for overall society, one should compromise one’s beliefs and follow general conscience and laws for public good.