The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claim that, from the data they received, customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter in the Happy Pancake House restaurant. However, this conclusion is questionable, we need to delve deeper in to the issue to substantiate this claim.

First, we need to know what is the way the company fetch the data of questionnaires. It is possible that only the customers more satisfied for the service write the feedback, however, the customers who are unsatisfied just ignore the questionnaire. Therefore, the data received by the company are biased and inaccurate.

Second, we need to clarify the long term effect of the change. Owning to that we don’t know how long is the change happened, the response of the customers in the Pancake House is just transient. If the customer merely think the staff merely inadvertently gave the incorrect butter to them and thus ignore and forgive the mistake, then it cannot guarantee the forbearance of the mistake in the future. Customers may feel malcontent if they know the Pancake House did it intentionally.

Also, it is unreasonable to derive from the satisfaction data to conclude that the customers not able to discern butter from margarine. Even though the taste between these two is similar so that it didn’t affect the flavor of the dishes and thus not opposed directly by the customer, it still exist other factors that will influence customers future choice. Butter and margarine consist of different ingredients so that have different effect for body, the customers who aware of this may decrease the time to order the Pancake.

To sum up, there are three points required to be clarified: the validity of the questionnaire fetched data, tracing the long term effect, and ensure that despite the flavor, whether or not other factors will influence the choice for customers. Without further investigations, we cannot make the conclusion assertively.