The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that Happy Pancake House restaurant's strategy in replacing butter with margarine has little effect on its customers. However, this claim is flawed because it relies on several dubious assumptions.

The author states that only about 2 percent of customers have complained. However, we do not know how is the information collected. It can be collected from the in-restaurant feedbacks, online review, or survey in a magazine. If the restaurant has sent out surveys on several platforms, but only judge the results partially from the certain platform where the result is favorable and ideal. In this case, the claim fails to provide evidence that only 2 percent of customers have complained overall.

Moreover, 2 percent of the customers have complained does not indicate that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. People who are involved in the investigation might be either neutral or happy, or that they are too lazy to complain even they are not happy with the change. Also, if the restaurant gives out benefits such as discount coupons or free dishes to encourage their customer to leave positive feedback instead of complaints, the result of the investigation will as well be biased.

The author also claims that since many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine, these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine. However, the author fails to provide clear details about "a number of". In some categories, 10 people can be counted as "a number of", while in another 10 thousand people are only regarded as "a little". To ensure it, the author must provide the precise number of people who complain.

While on the surface the author's claim may appear to have logical sense, it fails to provide detailed evidence that is integral to identifying whether their conclusion is correct. Customers may only be lazy so they do not complain, or that the restaurant selects ideal results or biased method to undergo the investigation. To strengthen it the author must provide us clear details of where the collected whether they collected the data without sending out benefits.