The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

In the memorandum from the business manager of happy pancake house restaurant, the author concludes that an average of 98 people out of 100 is happy with the change of butter with margarine. The author also states that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. However, before this recommendation properly evaluated these questions must be answered.

First of all, why author assuming that who ask for butter will not complain or assume that who are getting margarine instead of butter will be happy? Maybe, peoples who are getting margarine instead of butter will not complain but in future they cannot come in restaurant and like this many peoples cannot come and this will definitely make loss of restaurant. Perhaps, people who are not getting butter can influence to other person that don’t go at that restaurant they have replaced butter with margarine. That will negative impact to the restaurant. If either scenarios are true then the author argument doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, why author assumes that customer can’t identify the taste of butter and margarine? There is possibility that customers like the margarine more than butter so because of this they are not complaining if they got. Maybe also there is possibility that they thought there is some problem and because of this they are getting margarine instead of butter.

Finally, maybe servers is not working and giving wrong data to author, maybe there is possibility that average of 98 people out of 100 don’t like margarine but because of error in server that came to author that people likes it. Also there is possibility that author seeing the data of customers who are coming after replacing butter with margarine only for several days (like 1-5 days) and that customer cannot come after 10 days or 15 days or even month if they don’t like.

In conclusion, as the argument as it stands now, it is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the question above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation of replacing butter with margarine is success for restaurant.