The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Recently butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States This change however has had little impact

While it is possible that the change of replacing butter with margarine has had little impact on the customers of Happy Pancake House, this argument is rife with flaws and unwarranted assumptions. Thus, without further evidence or support, the argument is not strong enough to lead to the conclusion the the change in Happy Pancake House has no impact.

First, the argument fails to justify that the survey results are representative, reliable and valid. Since there is no information regarding its sampling method, it is possible that there is a sampling bias. For example, if the survey was conducted in a small town, we cannot use the data obtained to extrapolate to the whole region of southwestern United States. The indication that "a number of customers" did not complain is flawed for the same reason. Since we do not know how many customers are asked, the results cannot be generalize to the majority of customers. The interpretation that 2 percent of complaint does not count as impact might also be flawed. If the base population and profit is enormous, even 2 percent of loss can be colossal. Thus, the information regarding the characteristics of the samples and their sampling population is needed to bolster the argument.

Even if the samples are representative, the wording of the survey might be vague or even misleading. When exploring a trend, we often needs several questions to capture a panoramic view. If there is only one question among a myriad of irrelevant ones, customers might neglect this question and are unable to fully express their view on this issue. The wording also has an influence on customers' reply. For instance, even if the customers indicate no complaint regarding the change, it does not mean that they are satisfy about it. Thus, the detailed content of the questionnaire is needed to further validate the argument.

Other than that, the way they attain the data is flawed. It is indicated that they deceive the customer and tell them it was butter when it was actually margarine. Even if it has no impact in short term, it will have more serious consequences when the customers know that the "butter" they consumed is actually margarine.

In addition, using the term "butter" does not mean that customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine. They might refer to margarine as "butter of lower quality" or "butter of strange taste." Even though margarine is refered as "butter" in these expressions, these terms clearly indicates that the customers are aware of the difference between them.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed primarily for its unwarranted assumption that the survey results are valid. Further information concerning the characteristics of the samples, the sampling population and the content of the questionnaire are needed to further bolster the argument. Also the method used to obtain the results might have negative and inadvertent impact in the long run.