Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

While it may be true that we should save endangered species only when the potential extinction is caused by human activities, I strongly disagree with the position in the prompt for two reasons.

First, the argument assume that human are responsible for the endangered species only when they are caused by human activities. However, such assumption might be flawed. Human are responsible for the lives of other species not only because we should take responsibility of our own behavior but because we are the most privileged species around the globe. With advanced technology and industrial equipment, human are usually in the position of advantages when it comes to the struggle for resources. We often say that we should help the poor even if their indigent conditions are not the direct result of the well-off. For the same reason, we should help those animals in need as human are the most dominant and advantageous species around the globe.

While some may argue that human are not responsible for the potential extinction of other species, there is other reason why we should protect endangered species that is not resulted from human activities. It is because such extinction is going to have an irrevocable consequences to the society. The extinction of one kind of animal often results in the disruption of the whole biological chain related to that species. For example, if the endangered species were the predator of the pest in a rural area, the extinction of such species will cause the pest to proliferate, and the crops in that area are going to suffer. Because the extinction of certain species has such tremendous effect, providing protection for these species are not only a manifestation of human ethics, but trying to preclude the negative consequences caused by the disruption in the environmental equilibrium. For that reason, when we protect a certain species in the amazon rainforest, we are actually precluding "the lung of the globe" from losing its environmental and biological balance and ensure its immense ability to ameliorate global warming. Also, some endangered species might have undiscovered usage that are potentially beneficial for human beings. Many drugs that saved tens of thousands of lives are extracted from plants that only grow in certain areas. Had these plants become extinct before we discover their usage, we might not be able to fight against a variety of maladies around the globe.

Providing selectional protection for endangered species might have some merits. For example, we can save money and use it for other purposes. While it might be true, the protection of endangered species are not necessary costly, and it might have profitable results as mentioned in the previous paragraph.

In conclusion, we should protect endangered species even if it is not caused by human activities for two reasons. First, human are the most privileged species around the globe. Second, the extinction of certain species have serious consequences.