The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the argument, the replacement of butter with margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants had little impact on their customers.The arguer states that only 2 percent of the customers complained indicating that an average of 98 percent customers were happy with the change.The arguer further states that, servers have reported that a number of customers who asked for butter didn't complain when they got margarine instead indicating thet either the customers didin't distinguish between the two or they meant either butter or margarine when they asked for butter.The argument unfortunately is based on incomplete information and false assumotions due to which the reasoning provided is flawed.

Firstly, the argument states that of all the customers only 2 percemt of them complained about the change, assuming the rest were happy.However, not complaining is not equivalent to happy.Maybe most of the customers weren't happy with the change and instead of complaining, they stopped visiting the restaurant alltogether.Since, the argument doesn't provide information about the percentage of regular visitors that contiued to come the restaurant even after the change took place.The restaurant should conduct a survey among the visitors inorder to determine, if they like butter of margarine and then make decision instead of falsely assuming that the customers are happy.

Secondly, the servers claims of customers not complaining when they recieve margarine instead.But in how many of the restauants across the southwest region, it is happening is not mentioned.Maybe, only in one or two restaurants this situation is occuring and the situation of the rest of the restaurants is the opposite.without complete information, the claim of margarine being is hit is is flase.The restaurants instead of replacing butter across the region should target area where people are fond of margarine.Then, the chances of replacement could be a success.

Hence, due to the above reasons stated above, it would be false and rash to claim the customers are happy with the replacement of butter with margarine without complete information .