The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager concludes that the customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants in southwestern United States are content with the substitution of butter with margarine and therefore recommends that this ‘cost-effective’ change be implemented in other branches of the restaurants across the country. He comes to this conclusion based on the feedback of southwastern United states customers and the report of staff in the restaurant. While this may be a valid claim, as it stands now, the author stands on three unwarranted assumptions which if not addressed diminishes its credibility.

Firstly, the manager assumes that the complaint from the 2% of customers in southwestern United States is indicative that the other 90% are satisfied with the product. This might not be the case. For example, those who didn’t give a complaint might have not been aware of the fact that a feedback mechanism was available. They could have been dissatisfied but related this only their family member of housmates. Also, the author refuses to address the manner in which the complaints were made. If it was in form of a survey, it is possible that it was carried out in a nonscientific approach or that the questions asked were made to channel the thoughts of the customers towards a particular direction, favouring the use of margarine over butter. If any of the above stated examples proves true, this means that the claim of the director does not hold water and as such should be disregarded.

Secondly, the author assumes that what worked for Happy Pancake House restaurants in south western United States can be replicated in the other branches across the state. This might likely be false. Take for instance, the people who patronized the company in south western United States might nor be comparable to customers in other states. The latter might have a high percentage of people who are allergic to butter and as such may not purchase products made from it. Furthermore, the cost of production of margarine in states other than south eastern United States might be higher than the cost of production of butter. If any of the above examples prove true, then the suggestion of the manager isn’t credible and as such should not be taken seriously.

Lastly, the author assumes that the fact that there were no complaints when those who asked for butter were given margarine means butter can be easily substituted. This may not be true. Probably, these servers lacked professional skills and disregarded some of the comments given by the customers. It could also be that those who were given purchased the margarine did so not for personal consumption, perhaps as a gift, and as such had no idea of the change. If any of these is the case, then the author’s claim is rendered invalid.

In conclusion, the manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants suggests the use of margarine over butter based on his conclusion that their customers will have no issue with it. This statement is however rifled with holes as shown above and must be addressed before further considerations can be taken.