The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The society, which consists of schools, family, religious bodies and political groups, has a significant role to play in grooming its young for the future, especially in terms of leadership. There are diverse methods employed by these individuals and groups in the training process; some are more inclined to raising young men and women with the spirit of cooperation and brotherhood while others think it best to groom the young with a sense of competition. In my opinion, I am more aligned with the former for two reasons. However, I do concede that there might be a need for youths to possess a

Firstly, a successful leader is one who is able to lead, cope with and manage his/her diverse group of followers. Hence, the young must be adequtely nurtured in thiis light. For example, the 14th president of Uganda championed the transitioning of the state from an underdeveloped country to one with robust techhnological advancements. This occured by fostering tradetrade and partnership with its former rival country Togo. Thus, inculcating a spitit of brotherliness will ultimately lead to the growth and development of the antion

Secondly, a leader with a sense of competition is bound to go any length to achieve a win. An example is seen in the group of individuals referred to as the Talibans in Afghanistan who possess a deep feeling of hatred for individuals outside of their faith. This religious competition led to the death of over 10000 individuals in the space of a month.

However, in certain conditions it might be necessary for youths to be trained as competitors. For example, in sports and talent shows where the prize is awarded to the individual who puts his/her best fit forward, the young should race for themselves and not others

In conclusion, a society will benefit most when its youth are trained to relate as one and not otherwise.