The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this memo, we are informed that butter replacement with margarine had little impact on their customers. To support his/her claim, the author quotes that only 2 percent of customers have complained for such change. Furthermore, he/she also cites servers' feedback to show that customers could not distinguish butter from margarine. Quite convincing though such explanation appears, it is too hasty to claim that it is the only reason the accounts for the facts presented by the author. Therefore, we need to consider more explanations, which could rival with the one proposed in the argument.

To start off, the author ascribes the only 2 percent customers’ complaints to the satisfaction of majority of customers. While few complaints seems a good sign for customers' contentment, such phenomenon could spring from other reasons as well. First of all, it is likely that customers given margarine are too disappointed to raise up their complaints as lost trust for this company. If this is the case, only 2 percent of complaints would have little to do with satisfaction on the part of majority of customer. Consequently, it could be explained as stemming from that majority of customers forgo complaints as they are totally hurt by this sudden change. Second, even if there exists only a few complaints reported, it could not be exclusively attributed to customers’ satisfaction. It is of equal probability that disappointed customers would switch to other restaurants with providing of butter, rather than bootless complain to Pancake. Once the assertion that customer would like still stick to Pancake for such change proves unwarranted, the underlying logic could be weakened, namely: granted only a few complaints roars, customers would not like to forage other restaurants equipped with butter.

Furthermore, the fact that customers seldom complain when ask butter but given margarine seems to lend great support to the explanation that they can’t distinguish butter from margarine. However, such situations could be explained as not only their disability of distinguishing providings, but also other explanations as well. For instance, one probable explanation is that they might have limited time for dinner and therefore butter just serves as the inconsequential source for their dinner. As the unaffordable time costs, they choose to keep silent instead of raising up complaints. Furthermore, another reason might be that a not-bad tastes of margarine change their initial idea and they don’t have sufficient motivation to refute such replacement despite the detour with their original request. Without further investigation to evaluate the truth, we can not decide which explanation could lead to customers' indifference in facing margarine as alternative. It is even likely that all of the aforementioned explanations could conspire to such situation.

Last but not least, while all of aforementioned assumption are valid we admit that both a few complaints and customer’s indiscrimination for butter and margarine play great role in stably robust business performance, it is reckless to consider them as the direct explanation that contributed to little business impact for Pancake. Other explanations could also compete with the alleged one in the argument: the price advantage and similar flavoring brought about by cheaper margarine, the decline of storage cost that caused by non-rigorous saving conditions could also lead to little impact on customers, furthermore the increasing avenue.

In summary, while butter replacement with margarine might exert positive influence on Pancake’s overal business, in the absence of sufficient information, we can not establish a causal relationship between it and its little impact on business. Pancake’s margarine surrogate with butter is such a case that we need more considerations of alternative explanations that could account for the facts mentioned in the argument.