The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television station contends that the late-nigh news program should restore the devoted to weather and local news to its former level. most complaints were about the coverage of weather and local news and the local businesses have just canceled their advertising contracts. Although the claim and its supports seem valid, there are several logical fallacies and misconstrue that the manager is making.

First, the manager fails to clarify the information of the complaints. The memorandum expresses most of the complaints were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. However, there are no mention about how much the complaints were and what exactly the complaints were about. To elaborate, because "most" is ambiguous word, it is unknown whether it is 50.1% or 99%. also, not knowing how many the complaints were, concluding it is critical is unwise. If there were only 10 complaints and 10 million people is attending the

show

, it would be rather concluded as the complaints are trivial. Furthermore, the concern about the coverage could be positive, complaining the coverage of weather and local news are still too limited, therefore pleading the

to increase time. To authenticate the claim, the manager must explain the precise information about the complaints.

Second, the manager neglected the possibility of other factors that the local businesses that used to advertise canceled their advertsing contracts. To explain, the local businesses could be canceled their contracts because of the lact of budget. because of the recent finanical crisis on the companies, they should cut their budget. also, the local businesses could move their marketing ground, thus the local advertisement is not needed anymore. For the better assess, the manager must provide whether there are other causes the local businesses have canceled the contract.

Finally, the manager did not mention exact reasons whether the advertising revenues will decrease. After the cancellation of the locals, there could be the contract from the new nationwide company, interested in increased time to national news. because the new company's pay exceeds the fee of local companies, the advertising revenues would not reduce, it could actually increase. also, the local businesses could have canceled their advertising contracts temporarily. The contracts could have been expired or could have found errors on the contract and the locals promised that they will make a new contract. To justify the contention, the manager must provide the data that the advertising revenues will actually decreased and such prediction is reliable.