"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The general manager of KNOW radio station claims the radio station should switch from rock-an-roll music to 24-hour news to attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio’s future. Although the supports which the manager has given seems ostensibly logical, there are several logical fallacies and misconstrue when it is examined profoundly.

There is insufficient data of the proportion of the people who is older that fifty years old. At the memorandum, it is only described as people over fifty years of age has increased dramatically. In the view of not knowing the precise amount of increase, it is plausible to be suspicious about whether the term “dramatically” was used subjectively. Also, even though the population did increased dramatically, if the initial quantity was low, the consequent of percentage would be negligible. For example, the total number of listeners has declined from ten million to nine million, and the number of over fifty years of age increased from a hundred to ten hundred, it is true that it increased dramatically, but still the proportion of it is very low. To clarify the contention, the manager must give an exact quantity of increased percentage of the people over fifty and its initial percentage.

Second, the relation between the decrease of recorded music sales and securing the radio station’s future is irrelevant. To make the phenomenon and claim relevant, two implicated assumption should be shown as true. First, the reduction of recorded music sales is due to decreased population of people who are interested in listening to music and spending money on it. It is possible that people still love listening to music and are willing to spend the money on it. However, they started using their expenses on other music services such as streaming, so they stop going to such shop. The manager must exclude the possibility of different reasons why the sales of recorded music declined. Second, people who used to spend money on recorded music will also stop listening to music from the radio. It may be true people stop using their money on music industry. However, the cause could be general economic decline, but because of decreased interest on music. To authenticate the assessment, the manager must provide precise explanation about the assumptions that was not appeared in a memorandum.

Also, the situation between the radio station of neighboring cities and KNOW radio may show low similarity. If the cities which continuous news stations have been very successful has high proportion on 20s and low proportion on over 50s, the increase of 50s actually shows that the successive news programs should be unrecommended. The manager must should promulgate whether other factors such as the age distribution of the people in their listening area are well excluded to validate one’s proclaim.