The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager raises an important concern to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, in order to not lose local business contracts and meet the demands of viewers. However, the arguments provided by manager lack cogency and are rife with assumptions and holes.

Manager mentions that a large percentage of complaints recieved from viewer are concerned with decreased coverage of weather and local news. But, this fails to indicate the number of complainants against the total subscriptions. If the number of complainants are significantly much lower than the total number of subscribers, then it would be futile to consider that restroring previous fromat would attract more viewers. Moreover, it is possible that few subscribers submitted myriad number of complaints which would further undermine this evidence indicating large number of complaints. The manager fails to provide proper evidences in order to justify the complaints.

Additionally, no reports of survey has been provided by manager, justifying the decline in viewership caused due to decreased coverage of weather and local news. It is possible that more people from across the nation subscribe to the news channel owing to the increased focus on national news. For instance, a company which aspires to supply their product nationwide, often lose a bit of local market because of decreased focus on local consumers. However, this does not mean that their overall sales went down. The changes in strategy to appeal people from all parts of nation would result in increasing the total strength of consumers, thereby, increasing their sales which facilitate them in becoming a bigger company.

Manager has also mentioned that local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts resulting in lower revenue. However, the manager does not indicate the number of local businesses cancelling their ties with news agency and what percentage of revenue did they account for. If they accounted for very less percentage of total revenue, then it would not be imprudent to only consider their effect. Moreover, it possible that more national companies and large MNC's approach the news agency to advertise their products, which would lead to larger revenue. The manager failed to provide a deliberated argument to justify the decrease in revenue because of change in format.

Maintaining the viewership of news channel is an incredibly important task for any news channel to sustain their internal needs. However, the arguments provided by business manager are not persuasive enough and lack supporting evidences to make the late-night news program retract to older format.