The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television system has concluded that in order to attract more viewers to their program, they should should devote greater amount of time to weather and local news-as per their former levels. The author has presented this calculation after a seemingly thorough analysis of the situation that their television company is facing at present. However, upon a closer look at the problem it can be found that the author's culmination to problem is based on a few weak assumptions- three of which are discussed below.

Firstly, the manager reports having received most of the complaints from the viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news. However, in his conclusion, he blatantly considers the solution to be higher coverage time of these discussed programs. The author needs to realize that he is simply assuming the problem in quantitative terms. It can be quite possible that the customers have expressed their dissent in regards to the quality of the shows. They may have been dissatisfied with the drop in standardsof news anchoring, reporting or validity of the events reported. The manager, hence, needs to thoroughly check the nature of the problems reported and act accordingly. In case of problems relating to plummeting standard of the shows, he should revise their strategy of news reporting rather than substituting with higher coverage time.

Secondly, the manager mentions the local businesses that used to advertise their late night news program has canceled the advertisement contracts with the company. Here, again, he assumes that this may be due to replacement of weather and local news with national news, at night. Typically when a business contract is cancelled, it is due to better tenders received from some other company. When a company is unable to hold back their clents, they should employ business analysts to assess the situation and provide a distinctive solution. In such a case, the author should strategize accordingly and reconsider their contracts with their stakeholders.

Finally, the manager has assumed that just increasing time devoted to weather and local news would skyrocket their revenues to past level. He has not considered the fact that the audience he has lost is genuinely dissatisfied with his show and would likely not return-unless they find a clear prospect. Thus, in order to regain the customers, the manager must think differently and come up with out-of-the-box ideas. Producing unique shows that have never been broadcasted by any of their counterparts is one such strategy of attracting audiences by providing a bit of respite from quotidian shows.

In conclusion, it must be noted that the manager has missed out evidently on a few important aspects and laid his conclusion on a set of weak assumptions. Thus, the aforementioned problem seeks more evidences before being attempted to solved. However, from the nature of the problem, it is clear that the author must devote his attention to the qualitative aspects rather than the quantitative ones.