The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the business manager states that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news in their late-night news program to its former level, to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. However, the argument seems flawed on the basis of the following three reasons.

Firstly, the manager assumes that the audience for the show is still loyal to the television station. What it implies is, he assumes that as soon as they restore the time to their former levels, the viewing numbers will go up as the once dissatisfied audience will return to watch the program again. But there is a great possibility that the audience, disappointed with the news program over the year, might have switched over to some other rival stations' news programs that provided increased coverage of the local and weather news. This means, even if the times are restored, they might be unwilling to switch over from their newly adopted news program.

Secondly, the manager assumes that the local businesses will not cancel their contracts with the station if they restore the times of local and weather news. But there is a chance that as other television stations continue to grow in popularity due to their broadcast of local news, these companies as well might be tempted to sign a contract with those news channels which have increased local viewership that will help them achieve more publicity of the advertised product. Simply restoring their weather and local news times won't immediately attract a large number of local viewership and so the local companies might as well be better off signing their contracts with some other news companies which have gained popularity among the masses for providing quality local news because of the poor performance of the former.

Third, the manager assumes that restoring local news times might attract more viewers. But it assumes that the current audience, which it has built over the past year, that loves its presentation of national news, will also be willing to watch the local news. There is a great possibility that the current viewers who enjoy the program for providing reliable national news coverage, might not like it if the time of national news is decreased and local news increased. They might tend to switch to other channels which will provide better national news then. So the motive with which the times were restored, that is to attract more viewers, might backfire and instead decrease their current audience who loves their delivery of national news.

So the argument, in its current state is flawed and does not provide a clear solution to the problems the television station is facing. If we could have more evidence on the viewership numbers of rival news stations over the past year, the local companies advertising contracts with the television station, and the current audience of the station, we could evaluate the situation better and provide a better solution to tackle the problem of decreased viewership numbers and termination of advertising contracts.