The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument in the above stated prompt is about a television station and the ongoing crisis there and how they are planning on addressing this predicament. According to their claim in the memorandum, the main reason for this particular circumstance that decreae in revenues and abrogation of contracts by local advertisement companies is because a greater number of hours is dedicated for national news than the local news and weather. And the only way out of this quagmire is to refurbish the time dedicated to local news and weather. There are numerous unwarrented assumptions and logical fallacies in the above argument upon which I will be shedding light upon.

To begin with, it is claimed that most of the complaints are regarding station's coverage of weather and local news. Fact the first, these complaints which are submitted by viewers with respect to weather and local news could be anything. For example, the complaint could be that the television station's weather prediction is not accurate enough or that the local news is provided only for a particular region of the city and not others. The complaints does not necessarily have to be related to the decreased time devoted to weather and local news. It is no where mentioned in the argument that there is any complaint about increased hours national news.

Secondly, the cancellation of the local advertising companies with the television station could be because of many other reasons, and these other reasons have not been factored in while reasoning out this very circumstance. For example, maybe the ad companies had more benefits in a contract with another television station. Maybe there was an economic surge and most of the ad companies in that locality had moved to another region. Hence, It cannot be claimed that because the Television station has started to dedicate increased hours to national news local advertisements have annulled their contract.

Furthermore, it cannot be said that by restoring the number of hours of the local news and weather will reverse this very situation and bring revenures back up. What if the revenues plummeted because of an economic meltdown. Then, the claimed solution will no effect and would not solve the matter at hand.

In conclusion, the claim that restoraion of of time to local news and weather will increase the revenues is not an ironclad claim and is riddiled with several unwarrented assumptions. It does not hold together when analysed and questioned the assumptions. Therefore, more research and data analysis needs to done in order to prove the above statement true.