In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children such a message?

According to the above prompt, in some cultures, it is taught to the youngsters that they can achieve anything and everything if they put their mind to it and try hard. There are many pros and cons to this very statement which I will be discussing.

Focusing on the pros, the minds of children are malleable and can be shaped in the right direction. This lesson which is being taught, imparts positivity and makes them hard-working, determined and dedicated to the goal they want to achieve. For example, it was once said by a great yogi named Sadguru, the founder of Isha yoga, what you say to yourself is what you believe, and what you believe is what you do. This quote expounds that if we believe in something so strongly, it will make us work hard enough to fulfil our dreams. It is all the play of mindset here, only if you have an unfaltering mindset and firm will power you will be able to accomplish your goals.

The disadvantages of giving this kind of message would be that, sometimes even if one works hard enough there is a very real possibility of failure. It is not taught to children that it is okay to make a mistake because it is from these debacles that we learn. For instance, in Indian education system, a child who failed a subject in school is reprimanded but he or she is never taught how to avoid the same mistake in the future.

Additionally, Children are always taught in Indian schools and colleges that hard work is key to success but they fail to expatiate on what success really is. For some people, success could mean a lifetime of happiness, for others it could mean being healthy and kind. The definition of the term success is equivocal, and it depends on the person what he or she considers success to be.

In conclusion, there are a multitude of advantages and disadvantages in giving such a message to young minds, hence one needs to think before making such a claim in front of children.