In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Can children carry out anything as long as they strive for it enough? It is firmly believed and educated to children in some cultures, but this argument, from my perspective, can contribute to both benefits and detrimental results.

On the one hand, giving children the message that they can realize whatever goals with their enough attempt has several advantages. The overriding benefit is that this behavior enhances children's self-confidence and motivation. Telling them their possibilities to complete some tasks or goals will envision themselves seeing the promising blueprint and enable them to be determined to finish it with realistic actions, including engaging more time and energy to it and concentrating themselves on it, which will finally contribute to the success. Additionally, it is a fascinating way to encourage them to push their boundaries and surpassing themselves. Their potential capabilites can be aroused.

On the other hand, critics may hold the belief that this behavior exert a negative impact on children. First and foremost, they would not recognize their actual abilities and something they may really not adept at, because there are definitely challenging things they can not accomplish, sometimes even difficult for an adult. If they are repeatedly told they could do that, they will be brainwashed to trust themselves blindly. But may be after quite a long time they still find they fail in achieveing it, a sense of letting everyone down and disappointment is inclined to appear, which leads them to be skeptical of their abilities and even some mental problems like anxiety or despression. Moreover, it leads to an atmosphere that everyone only knows trying hard instead of thinking out of box. There are perhaps multiple methods such as asking other for suggestions or looking it from another perspective.

In conclusion, telling children to achieving anything by trying hard is a double-edge sword, with the positive effects of giving them confidence and the guidance of unlimit themselves, but also with the negative impacts on leading them to a possbile wrong road.