Can children achieve anything as long as they strive for it enough? It is firmly believed and taught to children in some cultures, but this argument, from my perspective, can contribute to both benefits and detrimental results.

On the one hand, giving children the message that they can realize whatever goals with their enough attempt has several advantages. The overriding benefit is that this approach enhances children's self-confidence and motivation. Telling them about their potential to complete tasks or achieve goals will help them envision a promising picture and enable them to be determined to pursue it with realistic actions, including engaging more time and energy to it and concentrating themselves on it, which will finally contribute to the success. Additionally, it is a fascinating way to encourage them to push their boundaries and surpassing themselves. Their potential capabilities can be aroused.

On the other hand, critics may hold the belief that this behavior exert a negative impact on children. First and foremost, they would not recognize their actual abilities and the things they may not adept at, because there are definitely challenging things they can not accomplish, sometimes even difficult for an adult. If they are repeatedly told they could do that, they will be brainwashed conditioned to trust themselves blindly. However, if after a long time they still find they have failed to achieve their goal, a sense of disappointment and of letting everyone down is likely to appear, which leads them to be skeptical of their abilities and even some mental problems like anxiety or depression. Moreover, it leads to an atmosphere that everyone only knows trying hard instead of thinking outside the box. There are perhaps multiple methods such as asking other for suggestions or looking it from another perspective.

In conclusion, telling children to achieving anything by trying hard is a double-edge sword, with the positive effects of giving them confidence and the guidance of unlocking themselves, but also with the negative impacts on leading them to a possible wrong road.