The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The first evidence I would look for is the nature of the complaints from the viewers. The excerpt mentions that the complaints were concerned with the local and weather news, but it does not mention if the complaints were specifically about the duration of the news segments. If there is evidence that viewers are complaining about reduced duration of local and weather news, that would help to strengthen the argument. On the contrary, if the complaints were about the quality of the news, the television station should focus on improving upon that, instead of just increasing the time devoted to these news.

The second evidence that would be required is the complaints from the advertisers. Although the passage mentions complaints from its viewers, there is no mention of the type of complaints that they received from the advertisers. If the feedback from these advertisers is also regarding the limited duration of local and weather news, the argument provided in the memorandum could be considered to be valid.

The third piece of necessary evidence would be a numerical statistic about the number of viewers of the TV show over the past year and the number of viewers in the period before that. If there is evidence of a significant decline in the number of people who viewed the show over the past year, taking their complaints into account may increase the viewer count. Once again, the station would need to confirm that the reason of this reduced number of viewers is actually about the duration of the local and weather news, and not anything else. On the contrary, if the viewer count of the show has not been significantly reduced despite the complaints, the station cannot assume that simply remedying the issues raised by their viewers would increase their audience. In this case, taking the complaints into account would just help them to retain the people who already watch the show.