The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the based on unwarranted assumptions like increased national news timing caused so many complains and many advertising companies pull out due to it , etc. rendering its main conclusion to avoid loss and attract customer by giving more time to weather and local news , invalid .

The argument fails to provide any justification that most complaints received from viewers concerned with weather and local news are due to increased time of national news. It has been assumed that number of people who complains reflect the mood of all local people who are watching late-night shows , which in other case would be possible that most people are satisfied with this trend and they are not complaining about it . Also , the number of complains does not mean that there are hundred of complain it can be like there are 3 compalints among them 2 are from people complaining about it. However, had the argument provided information about the reason of complaints from people with coverage of weather and local news could have supported that conclusion to a little extent that increasing local news and weather will attract more viewers .

The arguments leaves many unanswered questions based on that argument that local business that used to advertise during late night news programs have cancel their contracts . Firstly it is not stated that they cancelled contract only because the news channel increased the national news timing . Second , the contracts could have been pulled out because the news channel would have increased the amount of contract for the local businesses which they would have not been able to afford it .

Finally the argument claims without any proof that increasing time to weather and local new will attract many viewers and advertisement from local business because the mode of business by advertising company would have changed in past one year of the time .

As the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it fails to make a convincing case that increasing the national news time will attract new visitors and attract local advertising businesses .