'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum from business manager of a televison station, it appears that manager has reach to the conclusion of restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its formar level. The analysis of the channel from since the channel has incresed time for national news and decreased time for weather & local news. There are several problems which are being faced by television by taking this decision. Those problems are broken bond with advertising companies or the customers's complains etc. The manager has come up with the solution that the time allocated for weather and local news should be restored. Manager wants to do so to settle the things and get back the more viewers of the channel. The reasons presented here are not feasible and not at all sounds convincing. There are several loopholes which makes it incredible.

Firstly, the late-night program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news is a good step. The television has obviously taken this stepa year ago with the good intension and policy to attract more viewers or providing their best to the viewers. It is possible that the television manager did this by the demand of view It is nowhere mentioned that the how many people watch the late night news and how many complaints are received by televison station. It is possible that previously the numbers of watching late night news was less and by applying the scheme of increased time for national news has increased the number of views which is benificial to the station itself. What if the complaints are received during the monsoon season when people certainly eager and desire to know about the weather of the next day rather than national news. Such situation is likely to happen.

Secondly, the decrease of the advertising contracts may has a less connection with the television's this decision. There are several other factors who can lead to cancelling the collaboration between advirtising company and television station. These factors may include increased demand of providing more seconds/mintues spend after certain advertise or station's more restrictions about publising the adverticements or verbal dispute between the manager of televison and the head of the advertising company or unethical behavior etc. The main factor which may seem responsible here is that the late night advertisements are not that much gainful as day time advertisement.

In conclusion, the argument is not feasible as it stands. The manager could have make it better by providing firm support and more links among them. Due to the flaws it is not enough to reach to the conclusion that restoring time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will help the television station to gain its previous prestige and beneficial revenues and contracts with advertising companies.