The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memorandum, the author claims that the decreased time for local news and weather is the reason for decreased revenue. However, he fails to provide some crucial piece of evidence that might strengthen his argument.

When it comes to receiveing complaints, the author does not clarify what the complants received were about. They only mention the complaints lodged were about the local news and weather. If the complaints were about not liking the local content and requesting more national news coverage then it will shun the idea that increasing time for local news will attract more viewers. In fact, it will do just the opposite. In order to strengthen his argument, the author needs to provide evidence that the complaints were not about not liking the local contents.

The author also assumes that the number of complaints received equates to the number of viewers of local news and weather updates. They, however, fails to consider that national news might have more viewers yet less complaints because, national news are generally more valid, and there is less chance of falsifying or biased representation. Local news and weather on the other hand have more chance of subjective presentation, thus being more prone to distort or even scewing the actual event. In order to validate teh claim, the author needs to have actual data on viewership of both national and local news.

The author also claims that increasing time allotment for local news and weather might attract businesses to advertise their product on television. He fails to mention if the advertisers have shifted to any other mode of merketing. There might be other means to advertise. Perhaps, local business owners were shifting their attention to online marketing. They might alos reason that more of their target audiences prefer online marketing than advertising their products on television. If that is the case, then increasing time for local news will not bring back the advertisers to television advertising. In order to validate his reasoning, the author needs to clarify whether television is still the only means to attract customers for the loacl business.

While the authors claim that limiting time for national news and allocating more time will attract more viewers and investors holds some water, it needs more data and evidence to become a valid arguement. In order to do so, the author nneds to reevaluate the complaints, gather data on actual viewers of both type content and research more on why businesses are turning away from advertising their products on televeision.