The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the c

The author argues that over the past year, the television station's decision to devote more time to national news and less time to weather and local news has led to some adverse effects, such as complaints received from viewers on coverage of local and weather news. In addition, the author states that local business that used to advertise during the late-night news program have stopped to do so. As this would inevitably lead to loss of revenue, the author suggest to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, the authors argument sounds unpersuasive due to lack of specific evidence which can corroborate his story.

First, the complaints received by viewers on the televisions station's coverage of weather and local news needs to be carefully studied to assert whether these complainants convey their discontent due to removal of weather and local news for late-night news programs. It might be that the complaints received, concerned with weather and local news, deal with some sort of erroneous reporting that the news station has broadacsted during this period. It might also be that the local and weather news that this television station has reported during the day time is also very trivial and hence the complaints arise out of the people's discontent in the station's overall attitude in dedicating less time to these news, not just for the late-night news program.

Second, the author suggests that local business that used to advertise during the late-night news program have canceled their business contracts. The evidence as to why such cancellation took place is nowhere presented and hence the remedial method that devoting more time to weather and local news in the late-night news program will bring these businesses back, is questionable. It might be that the local businesses did not see much profit in investing into advertisements for the late-night program which did not have a significant number of viewers. In such a case, the news presented during the late-night program, whether it is national or local or weather news, has no correlation with the local businesses motif for advertisements and hence the author's suggestion to increase the local and weather news time to former levels, is unlikely to yield any results.

Furthermore, evidence that local and weather news attract more viewers needs to be presented, in order to corroborate his statement that "in order to attract more viewers to the program", local and weather news time should be increased. If viewers are more inclined towards national news then such an increase will likely result in loss of viewership rather than an increase. The author should present specific evidence how his opinion that local and weather news attract more people holds relevant and true to the case of this specific television station.

In conclusion, it may be true that the television station's loss of revenue arising out of local businesses cancelling advertisement contracts and the complaints concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news all necessitate more dedicated time to local and weather news. However, as in stands now, the author's argument stands unpersuasive due to lack of evidence on how the complaints on the station's coverage of local and weather news pertains to discontent of the people due to removal of such news form the late-night program. In order to futher evaluate his argument, evidence on why cancellation of the advertisement contracts took place in the first place is needed and how more screen time is likely to bring back these and attract more viewers, also needs to be ascertained.