TPO-10. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advent of technologies in computer hardware and software systems have consequently led to the proliferation of computer games in society today. While some people think that playing computer games helps an individual to relax, in my opinion, I believe that these have detrimental effects on your health and overall well-being. This is because of two reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, most computer games, that people are interested in today, is related to some kind of violence. Whether it is fighting for a revolutionary cause or against zombies, these computer games depict scenes of gruesome killing and murder. Research has shown that things children perceive through their vision, that is, what children see, often shapes their personality. Therefore, playing such computer games might lead to behavioral changes in children and they can become more aggressive and violent. Often, such violence compels people to take up arms resulting in incidents of mass-shooting.

Moreover, playing computer games is addictive and many people tend to spends hours on such games. Long exposure to computer screens can have a significant impact on eyesight and also on the overall health of such individuals, who spend most of their time indoors and refrain from any kind of physical activity. Over time, a lifestyle devoid of any exercise or physical movement leads to obesity which has severe detrimental effects on a person's cardiovascular system. In brief, people who spend long hours in front of computer screens, playing addictive games, often experience heart diseases and retinal damage at an early age. Arguably, people today wear blue-light filtered eyeglasses to limit the impact of computer screens on their eyesight, but this is not a potential solution as well, because of a couple of reasons. First, these eyeglasses can not filter all the blue-light reaching our eyes and second, most people can not afford the cost of such advanced glasses.

Indisputably, in some cases, playing computer games might help people to relax and refresh their minds. However, considering how computer games shape children behavior and also have a detrimental impact on individual health, one should look for other potential resources. For example, I find reading books and painting very relaxing and I often do these when I want to take a break from work.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that playing computer games is a waste of time and children should not be allowed to play them. This is because computer games often shape children behavior, making them aggressive through depictions of violence, and they also have a significant impact on a person's overall health.