The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagre

Society today is marked by an increased need for leaders to drive and motivate people towards achieving goals. The prompt questions as to whether the best way to prepare the youth towards attaining such leadership skills is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation or is it through competition. Indisputably, competition serves to make a person stand out amidst a more generic crowd. However, in my opinion, leadership skills are best manifest in a person through his cooperative psychology, rather than a competitive one.

Industries today are marked by increased activities which extend across domains. For example, a software company also needs to understand the customer needs and market trends in order to make their products even more versatile and competitive. Hence cooperation between different teams across domains and even time-zones are instrumental in determining the company's commitment to societal needs. As such, leaders across different business units of corporate entities today, often hold relevant meetings to discuss feedbacks, and adapt their course of actions accordingly.

Even globally, cooperation is an important factor in dealing with challenges that the world encounters today. Ranging from problems such as global warming to scientific ventures such as studying the universe, nations are striving towards attaining common goals through collaborative action. Hence governments today need people who will not only be open to others' opinions but also present adequate skill to spearhead committees, containing disparate people, towards attaining goals through cooperation and insight.

At the national level, introduction of new policies are subjected to debate and discourse by the ruling and opposition parties to adjudge the efficacy of the proposed policies. However, while dealing with problems which plague a nation such as widespread diseases, economic disparity among others, politicians, who are representatives of the people and hence can be referred to as their leader, are often seen to be bipartisan in their dealings. Such incidents show that any solution to a common problem can only be attained through cooperation amongst the concerned parties.

Indisputably, for a society to sift the best out of the more generic folk and to identify individuals with innate leadership attributes, competition may be deemed necessary. However, indentification of such individuals through competitive actions might inevitably lead to obscuring of their cooperative traits. As such, the idea of cooperation is instrumental in determining a leader while that of competitiveness is peripheral.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the prompt in that in preparing its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields, a society must adhere to instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. While competition necessarily helps in determining an individual's ability when put under duress, it does guarantee that the individual will strive towards achieving goals using collaborative approaches. However, today's needs require cooperation between disparate groups and as such forms the basic attribute of a leader who leads such groups into achieving their goals.