The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Before evaluating an argument, it's important to ask specific questions and gather as many evidence as possible. In the memorandum from the business manager, there are a few areas that would need further explanation to make the argument valid.

First of all, it is stated that during the past year, the television station has received multiple complaints from viewers about their concerns with the station's decreasing coverage of weather and local news. However, the question that needs to be answered is whether there is a decline in viewer rate as well. Although the station may be receiving complaints, it doesn't necessary prove that the station is losing viewers. Therefore, in order to strengthen the manager's argument that if the station hopes to retain their current viewers and attract new ones, it needs to bring back their coverage on weather and local news.

Secondly, the manager provided the information that some local businesses have terminated their advertising contract with the station due to the shift in the late-night news program coverage. While it is reasonable that the manager concluded that the reason businesses stopped advertising during the program is due to the lack of weather and local news coverage, it is crucial to examine whether there are other factors that contribute to it. For example, a factor that may cause businesses to cancel their advertising contracts could be the increase in advertising costs. If it is becoming more costly to advertise on the station's late-night news program, it is inevitable that business would start looking at other stations or programs to advertise on. Hence, the manager should dig deeper into the main cause of this issue to further strengthen this argument.

In conclusion, despite that the argument proposed by the business manager is logical, there are areas that requires further investigation. If the manager is able to provide information on the drop in program viewers and the main reason why businesses are stepping away from advertising, it would prove to the head of the station that the argument is solid. To reach the goal of maintaining current viewers, attract new audiences, and avoiding losing any further advertising revenues, the station should restore the coverage of their weather and local news.