The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station :

" Over the past few years our late night programs has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.During this time period , most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news.In addition local businesses that used to advertise during our late night program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us.There for in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues , we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level"

The claim which is being made is that the Television station should revert back to the old mode of giving prominence to weather and local news instead of increasing the time to air national news. However , in order to analyse this issue , we must consider the manifold assumptions which have been implicit while arriving at the conclusion.

It has been given that , there were complaints received from viewers who were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news . It is not clear regarding the content of these complaints . Were the complaints due to the fact that the air time has been reduced for the weather and local news ? Or , were the complaints because the quality of content of national news being aired is of very low quality ? Or , are the anchors who have started hosting this new format are new and are not able to adeptly understand the nuances on how to present the news ? This leaves a lot of questions to be answered . Ascertaining these will help us in making a better conclusion about this issue.

Another point which has been is that the local businesses that used to advertise have cancelled their contracts. Again , this change has happened after the prominence given to national news . This makes it easy to correlate these two events . However , there are several questions that need to asked . Did the viewership fall down drastically after the prominence that might have prompted the local businesses to cancel the contracts ? Or , were the contents being aired against the interests of local businesses and were being promoted by outside sources which were detrimental to the interests of the local businesses ? Or , were the contents of the news predicting a gloomy picture for the local businesses in the days to come ? Were the other news channels offering competitive prices for advertising on their channel?

In addition to the above , there has also been a point made that there is a need to attract more viewers to the program . But there has been no explicit mention that viewership has fallen down after the airing in the new format . If there has been no fall in the viewership , then reverting back to the previous format doesn't enhance the channel's aim of increasing viewership.

In order to thoroughly examine the issue , we need to look at what the rival news channels have been doing in this period . Have they introduced some new program which might have been doing better because of its content ? Another possibility could be that anchors in the rival channels were more popular than the ones in this channel which could also have been a contributing factor.

In summary :the issue which has been stated and the conclusion which has been drawn has too many unanswered questions and many assumptions that have been implicit . In order to draw a better conclusion or even to substantiate the conclusion which has been made , we need to look all the questions which have been enumerated above