The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this prompt, the author has assumed that to increase the number of advertising revenues, the coverage of weather and local news should be increased. this arguement is full of holes and bullets as the direct link between revenues and weather news has not described properly. To improve the assumtion proper suggestion will be given to strengthen it.

First of all, the author has given has provided information that in the late-night show there is incrrease in the time for national news and time span for weather and local news has been decreased due to which many complaints has been recorded. Now, the flaw in this arguement does not describe about the type of complaint. It may be possible that the complaints registered with local news and weather news are registered against the content or information provided is not proper. so to avoid this anamolies, proper information regarding subject of complaints should be provided.

Additionally, second flaw in the premises is mentioned as advertising contracts has been reduced by local businesses. In contrast, the author does not explain the specific reasons that causes decrease in number of advertising contracts. To overcome this flaw, the proper research should be done by the tv company to rectify the all possible factors that affect the number of local business contracts.

However, in support of author there are may be chances that reduction in business contracts are due to late-night shows timings. this shows are broadcasted so late that major number of targetted audience are not interested in watching this shows.

In conclusion, the following premise is not properly reasoned. there are many flaws in the assunmptions made by the author. In need of improvement, the flaws are highlighted and the suggestions are mentioned to improve them. so author should do more research in the field of improvement of flaws.