The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There are three main assumptions that business manager made. first, cancellation of the advertisement is due to the complain about low coverage of weather and local news. Second, resolving complain about coverage will increase the view of the news. Third, when late-night news program increase coverage of weather and local news, advertise revenue will increase. Take a deeper look for each assumption, all three assumptions cannot be warranted.

First, there are so many reasons to cancel advertisement such as company's bad financial status so that they cannot continue advertisement. Even there can be a deal from other late-night news program to offer cheaper advertisement. there are numerous other reasons to cancel advertisement not just because of the complain.

Second, by restore the time devoted to weather and local news cannot warrant the increase of viewers. what if people made complains because they are watching the news. one can complain the organization and content of the news because one watches it. Also, there is an old saying the complains are from interests. therefore, it is hard to certainly say that people do not watch news because of short coverage of weather and local news.

Last, there is no guarantee that advertise revenue will increase by attracting more viewers. Yes it is for the most case but what if the rules does not apply for the late night. what if company is advertising in order to meet certain standards. there are perfunctory advertisements that are irrelevant to viewers such as mandatory wanted ads before applying citizenship for the current worker. Federal law makes company to advertise certain amount of time before company employee apply for citizenship and company is only interested in fulfilling the period not viewers so they prefer night advertisement as it is cheaper than other time. therefore, assuming advertise revenue will increase due to many view can be wrong assumption.

By these three unwarranted assumptions, the arguments that attract more viewers not to lose any further advertising revenues, restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will be seriously weakened and team manager should re-consider how to promote more advertising revenue.